Employment Application

Logan County Emergency Ambulance Service Authority

Qualified applicants are considered for all positions without regard to race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, or veteran status. Logan County Emergency Ambulance Service Authority aim does not discriminate against applicants because of disability in violation of federal or state law.

West Virginia EMS System

Personnel Requirements


According to the West Virginia Division of Health Legislative Rules, anyone wishing to receive certification from the West Virginia Office of Emergency Medical Services must meet and maintain the following qualifications. Certification will be denied or revoked to anyone not being able to meet these requirements.

  • Be a minimum of 18 years of age.
  • Demonstrate competency in handling emergencies using basic or advanced life support equipment and skills in accordance with the course objectives from the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) National Standard Curricula.
  • Verbally communicate in person, via telephone and telecommunications using the English language.
  • Hear spoken information from co-workers, patients, physicians, dispatchers, and sounds common to the emergency scene.
  • Lift, carry and balance a minimum of 125 pounds alone, and equally distributed 250 pounds with assistance at the height of 33 inches, for a distance of 10 feet.
  • Read and comprehend written materials under stressful conditions. Document, in writing, patient information on the West Virginia OEMS Prehospital Care Record.
  • Demonstrate manual dexterity and fine motor skills, with the ability to perform all movements needed for providing quality patient care.
  • Bend, stoop, crawl and walk on uneven surfaces.
  • Meet minimum vision requirements to operate a motor vehicle within the state.
  • Not be addicted. to the use of any drugs or intoxicating substances.
  • Not be under the influence of any intoxicating substance while on duty or when or assisting in the prehospital care of the patient.


Criminal Convictions


The Office of Emergency Medical Services will deny certification for individuals convicted of the following crimes:

    • Felonies involving sexual misconductwhere the victim’s failure to affIrmatively consent is an element of the crime, such as rape.
    • Felonies involving the sexual or physical abuse of children, the elderly, or the infirm, such ad sexual misconduct with a child, making or distributing child pornography or using a child in a sexual display, incest involving a child, or

assault on an elderly or inform person.

  • Any crime in which the victim is an out-of-hospital patient or a patient or resident of a health care facility including abuse, neglect, theft from, or rmancial exploitation of a person entrusted to the care or protection of the applicant.
  • Whether the applicant’s actions and conduct since the crime occurred are consistent with the holding of a position of public trust.
  • The Office of Emergency Medical Services shall deny any applications for certification by an individuals in the following categories except in extraordinary circumstances, and then shall grant certification only if the applicant establishes clear and convincing evidence that certification will not jeopardize public health and safety.
  • Individuals who have been convicted of any crime and who are currently incarcerated, on work release, probation or parole.
  • Individuals convicted of crimes in the following categories unless at least five years have passed since release from custodial conrmement, whichever occurs later.
  • Serious crimes of violence against persons, such as assault or battery with a dangerous weapon, aggravated assault and battery, murder or attempted murder, manslaughter (except involuntary manslaughter), kidnaping, robbery of any degree, or arson.
  • Crimes involving controlled substances or synthetic drugs involving unlawful possession or distribution, or the intent to distribute unlawfully schedule I through V drugs as dermed by the Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances Act.
  • Serious crimes against property, such as grand larceny, burglary, embezzlement, or insurance fraud.
  • Any crime involving sexual misconduct

The Office of Emergency Medical Services may deny applications for certification by individuals convicted of any crime including driving under the influence, but not including minor traffic violations, after consideration of the following factors:

  • The seriousness of the crime
  • Whether the crime relates directly to the skills needed for prehospital care service and the delivery of patient care.
  • How much time has elapsed since the crime was committed.
  • Whether the crime involved violence to or abuse of another person.
  • Whether the crime involved a minor or a person of diminished capacity.